Published by Wombat Books, Patience belongs to ‘The Invisible Tree’ picture book series. Conceived by author Kirrily Lowe, the series aims to impart big values to little people. Along with her husband, Kirrily is a pastor in Sydney. Her stories explore the character traits we’re all born with, and how we can grow and use them in our daily lives. Each book begins with the affirmation:

Kirrily Lowe

Kirrily Lowe, author of ‘The Invisible Tree’ series

‘There is a little tree
That lives inside of me
It wants to grow big and tall
Even though I am very small’

Patience is the story of a young boy named Sammy, waiting for a special parcel to arrive. He starts off waiting patiently, but his tolerance is tested as the days pass and the parcel doesn’t turn up. Encouraged by those around him, he doesn’t give up hope.

When the parcel eventually arrives, he discovers another gift he’d been given. It didn’t come in the post. It was already inside him. It was, of course, patience!

The story teaches children – as well as many of their parents! –  the value of being patient. It shows the strength we can gain from it … something I must admit I’m still trying to learn myself … Other books in the series explore Love, Joy and Peace.

Patience Book


The text for each book in the series is teamed with Henry Smith’s unique illustrations. Made using collages of recycled and hand-made papers, the look is distinctive and fresh.

Each book in ‘The Invisible Tree’ series imparts a message in a fun way. Kirrily Low may be a pastor, but there’s nothing preachy about her engaging stories!

You can find out more at

I wrote this book review for Creative Kids Tales and they kindly allowed me to reproduce it on my blog.

2 thoughts on “Book review: Patience by Kirrily Lowe and Henry Smith

  1. Vasudha says:

    What a great idea for a series. Thanks for the review – I’ll have to check them out!

    1. Stella says:

      Thanks, Vasudha. The books are sweet and worth a look!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: